Birkirkara advance to AME Cup final

by Ayrton Galea - 3rd August 2012
Birkirkara FC

Luxol Stadium

02/08/2012 - 18:30
Mosta FC

Birkirkara advanced to the final of the AME Cup after beating Mosta with a 2-0 score. Joselito Dos Reis was the player that caught the eye of those present as it was thanks to his brace that Birkirkara won the duel.

It was another good match for ‘The Stripes', especially by the forwards, who proved their potential yet again, and they created danger to the opponent's defence whenever they had possession. With this brace, Joselito is the top scorer of the cup with seven goals from four matches.

This win, which was the fourth in a row for Birkirkara, was the first match that they kept a clean sheet. Reuben Gauci had a very good match and he was an alert custodian of the posts.

Birkirkara made five changes from their last outing. Reuben Gauci, Ryan Camenzuli, Nikola Vukanac, Alejandro Mendoza, Shola Shodiya and Joselito Dos Reis all started the match. Shola Shodiya and Nikola Vukanac were back in the fray, having recovered from their injuries.

The First Half

On the first minute, Birkirkara were close to open the score when Joselito Dos Reis released Ryan Camenzuli on the left wing who served Jhonnattann Benites but he failed to connect with the ball.

Less than a minute later, Joselito missed a fine chance from inside the area, when he lobbed over Justin Haber.

In the first action for Mosta on the 2nd minute, Daniel Mitev had a long distance shot ending wide.

Ryan Camenzuli and Joselito Dos Reis combined well on the 6th minute with Camenzuli entering the box but had his shot was deflected into a corner kick.

Birkirkara's Brazilian wingers created a fine opportunity on the 9th minute. Joselito Dos Reis received a fine cross on the right wing and his perfect cross was met by Jhonnattann Da Doncecao but his effort scratched past the post.

Shola Shodiya managed to anticipate a back pass towards Mosta goalkeeper Justin Haber on the 11th minute but his shot was mistaken and the ball ended wide.

A shot from outside the box on the 14th minute by Jhonnattann Benites was saved by Haber.

Birkirkara took the lead on the 16th minute. A perfect cross from the back towards Shola Shodiya, who in turn served Joselito Dos Reis who hit past Haber.

A fine cross by Joselito Dos Reis was parried by Haber on the 20th minute.

Birkirkara made them two on the 23rd minute when once again Shola Shodiya released Joselito Dos Reis who lobbed over Haber.

In the first substitution for Mosta, on the 26th minute, Jonathan Bajada who was injured, had to be replaced with Firazz Abocezz.

Mosta almost pulled one back when Manwel Elota had a fine shot ending a bit wide on the 27th minute.

Joselito Dos Reis had a powerful shot from inside the box ending wide on the 31st minute.

Reuben Gauci performed a very good save on the 32nd minute on Manwel Elota's header, turning the ball into a corner.

Ryan Camenzuli made a fine solo action on the 38th minute which he concluded with a long shot, but Haber saved without difficulty.

On the 41st minute, Daniel Mitev for Mosta, had a fine action concluded with a shot which Gauci saved well.

Jhonnattann Benites replied for Birkirkara with a fast run on the 42nd minute but his low shot was saved by the international goalkeepeer. On the other side of the pitch, a weak shot by Mosta ended wide.

Mosta missed a great opportunity on the 44th minute. Mitev served Manwel Elota whose close range effort in front of an empty net, somehow hit the bar, and from the rebound Mitev saw Gauci blocking his shot.

The Second Half

On the 48th minute, following a fine cross by Ryan Scicluna, Jhonnattann Benites made a fine run but his touch was too strong, and Haber eliminated the danger.

Following a free-kick by Joselito Dos Reis on the 49th minute, Shola Shodiya headed over.

Joselito Dos Reis made a fine action on the 53rd minute, rounding a defender and sent a perfect cross which was volleyed by Shola Shodiya and saved by Haber.

In the second substitution for Mosta on the 55th minute, Dino Prajaca replaced Mirko Pekez.

On the 56th minute Reuben Gauci made a fine save in two attempts following a powerful shot.

On the hour mark, Justin Haber denied Birkirkara with a fine save, following a shot by Shola Shodiya, and he deflected the ball into a corner. Ryan Camenzuli had a fine shot from outside the box saved by the international goalkeeper.

In the first substitution for Birkirkara on the 61st minute, Zoran Vuckovic replaced Rowen Muscat.

Emanwell Okoh had a shot ending wide for Mosta on the 64th minute.

Ryan Camenzuli had a long distance shot saved by Haber on the 65th minute.

In the second substitution for Birkirkara, Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza replaced Jhonnattann Benites on the 67th minute.

Mosta missed a fine opportunity to pull one back, when on the 70th minute Manwel Elota and Mitev combined well with the action ending with a shot going over from an ideal position.

In the third substitution for Mosta on the 74th minute, Manolito Micallef was replaced with Bryan Agius.

Shola Shodiya tried his luck with a powerful low shot from outside the box on the 76th minute which was saved by Haber.

In the third substitution for Birkirkara, Shola Shodiya was replaced with Jusselio Donizete on the 77th minute.

In the fourth substitution for Mosta on the 80th minute, Fernando Apap was replaced with Adrian Farrugia.

Joselito Dos Reis made a fine solo action and he concluded with a powerful shot but was denied by a great save by Haber on the 83rd minute.

Mosta utilised their fifth substitution on the 83rd minute when Ryan Grech was replaced with Mark Brincat.

Birkirkara made their fourth substitution on the 84th minute when Fabian Zammit replaced Ryan Camenzuli. Two minutes later, Ian Schembri replaced Paul Fenech in the fifth substitution for Birkirkara.

Off a cross from the left, Jusselio Donizete headed over for Birkirkara on the 88th minute.

In the sixth substitution for Birkirkara, Joselito Dos Reis was replaced with Michael Camilleri on the 88th minute.

In the sixth and last substitution for Mosta on the 89th minute, Manwel Eleto was replaced with Steve Schembri.

The full time whistle found Birkirkara maintaining their perfect streak, and booking a place in the final. Birkirkara will face Sliema next Sunday in the AME Cup final, which will kick-off at 20:30.

BIRKIRKARA: Reuben Gauci, Ryan Scicluna, Nikola Vukanac, Alejandro Mendoza, Ryan Camenzuli (84' Fabian Zammit), Paul Fenech (86' Ian Schembri), Rowen Muscat (61' Zoran Vuckovic), Gareth Sciberras, Joselito Dos Reis (88' Michael Camilleri), Jhonnattann Benites (67' Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza, Shola Shodiya (77' Jusselio Donizete).

MOSTA: Justin Haber, Manolito Micallef (74' Bryan Agius), Alex Cini, Fernando Apap (80' Adrian Farrugia) Onji Chiembra, Manwel Okoh, Ryan Grech (83' Mark Brincat), Daniel Mitev, Jonathan Bajada (26' Firazz Abolezz), Manwel Elota (89' Steve Schembri), Mirko Pekez (55' Dino Prajaca).

Yellow Cards: Onji Chiembra (Mosta).

Scorers: 16' Joselito Dos Reis, 23' Joselito Dos Reis.

comments powered by Disqus
McDonald's Eurosport Adidas Meat Point MSV Powerade